

Process for appointment of members to the Commission for a Renewed Lutheran Church

Following the action of the 2022 ELCA Churchwide Assembly (CA22.01.06), the ELCA Church Council authorized the establishment of the Commission for a Renewed Lutheran Church (CRLC) to consist of no more than 35 voting members and directed the Executive Committee of the Church Council to initiate the process of forming the commission at its November 2022 meeting (CC22.11.38).

The Executive Committee set to work on the parameters of such a commission utilizing, in part, previous practices to appoint social statement task forces. The committee held to the representational principles outlined in Chapter 5 (ELCA Constitution - 5.01.e., 5.01.F19., and 5.01.H21.). In addition, the Church Council acted to increase the representation of persons of color or whose primary language is other than English to at least 25% and to increase the goal for youth or young adults to 20%. Two nomination processes were used. One was through synod councils and/or synod executive committees and the other through an open nomination process where individuals could nominate someone else or self-nominate. Nominations were accepted from January 9–March 9, 2023.

Upon closure of the nomination process, all nominations were grouped together by region and Executive Committee members were paired up to prayerfully review the nominations. These reviews included phone calls and email conversations with the nominees, their listed references and other appropriate references.

At the Church Council retreat in March, the Executive Committee reviewed their selections — a total of three per region with two selected from the synod nominations, next to other selected nominations. The representational principles, along with varying levels of education; professional gifts, skills and experiences; church leadership experience; varying congregational and geographic settings; etc., guided the discernment to reach the final slate of recommended nominations. Additional phone calls, reference checks and substitutions due to schedule conflicts or representational needs were made in preparation for the April 20, 2023, Church Council meeting.

The final slate of CRLC nominees was presented for discussion and subsequent approval to the Church Council, and those appointed were notified immediately. Following the announcement to the appointees of the CRLC, the Executive Committee was notified of an appointee's unavailability to attend the first meeting. Attendance at the first meeting was an expectation of membership. The Church Council authorized the Executive Committee to fill vacancies as needed. With this vacancy, the Executive Committee appointed a new member.

The Executive Committee of the Church Council invited members of the Commission for a Renewed Lutheran Church (CRLC) to apply if they were interested in serving as a co-chair. There were seven people who applied by the deadline. At its regularly scheduled meeting on June 20, the Executive Committee appointed the Rev. Carla Christopher and Leon Schwartz to serve as the CRLC co-chairs.

The first meeting of the CRLC will be July 13-15, 2023, at the Lutheran Center in Chicago. To learn more about the CRLC members, <u>click here</u>.

The appointments are as follows:

- 1. **Mr. Roberto Lara Aranda**, New York, N.Y.; Metropolitan New York Synod (7C)
- 2. **The Rev. Sean Avery**, Eagle River, Alaska; Alaska Synod (1A)
- 3. **Ms. Felecia Boone**, Minneapolis, Minn.; Minneapolis Area Synod (3G)
- 4. Mr. Michael Chan, Moorhead, Minn.; Northwestern Minnesota Synod (3D)
- 5. **The Rev. Tiffany Chaney**, Montgomery, Ala.; Southeastern Synod (9D)
- 6. **Mr. Don Corson**, Port Angeles, Wash.; Southwestern Washington Synod (1C)
- 7. **Mr. Antoine Cummins**, Alpine, Calif.; Pacifica Synod (2C)
- 8. **Mr. Ralston Deffenbaugh**, Estes Park, Colo.; Rocky Mountain Synod (2E)
- 9. **The Rev. Elizabeth Friedman**, Ann Arbor, Mich.; Southeast Michigan Synod (6A)
- 10. The Rev. Charlene Guiliani, Franklin, Wis.; Greater Milwaukee Synod (5J)
- 11. **The Rev. Gail Hagerty**, Bismarck, N.D.; Western North Dakota Synod (3A)
- 12. **Bishop Regina Hassanally**, Rochester, Minn.; Southeastern Minnesota Synod (3I)
- 13. Mx. Ruth Ellen Howard, Kansas City, Mo.; Central States Synod (4B)
- 14. **Ms. Thelma Pruitt Jacks**, Eagleville, Pa.; Southeastern Pennsylvania Synod (7F)
- 15. **Mr. Ryan Johnson**, Rock Valley, Iowa; Western Iowa Synod (5E)
- 16. Ms. Stacy Kitahata, Seattle, Wash; Northwest Washington Synod (1B)
- 17. **The Rev. Kristin Johnston Largen**, Dubuque, Iowa; Northeastern Iowa Synod (5F)
- 18. Mr. David Lenz, Mayfield Village, Ohio; Northeastern Ohio Synod (6E)
- 19. Ms. Alexandra Mack, Little Silver, N.J.; New Jersey Synod (7A)
- 20. **Mr. Thomas Madden**, Fairport, N.Y.; Upstate New York Synod (7D)
- 21. Ms. Susan Wilds McArver, Columbia, S.C.; South Carolina Synod (9C)
- 22. Ms. Candy McCorkle, Concord, Mich.; North/West Lower Michigan Synod (6B)
- 23. Mr. Evan Moilan, Bastrop, Texas; Southwestern Texas Synod (4E)
- 24. Ms. Sarah E. Morris, Phoenix, Ariz.; Grand Canyon Synod (2D)
- 25. **Ms. Laurel Muhly-Alexander**, Clarksburg, W.Va.; West Virginia-Western Maryland Synod (8H)
- 26. **Mr. Anthony Ormsbee-Hale**, Weatherford, Texas; Northern Texas-Northern Louisiana Synod (4D)
- 27. **Bishop Matthew Riegel**, Morgantown, W.Va.; West Virginia-Western Maryland Synod (8H)
- 28. Mr. Leon Schwartz, Greenfield, Iowa; Southeastern Iowa Synod (5D)
- 29. **Deacon Dallas Shealy**, Batesburg-Leesville, S.C.; South Carolina Synod (9C)
- 30. **The Rev. Adam Sornchai**, Cardington, Ohio; Northwestern Ohio Synod (6D)
- 31. Ms. Melody Stachour, Woodbridge, Va.; Metropolitan Washington, D.C., Synod (8G)
- 32. Ms. Cheryl Stuart, Tallahassee, Fla.; Florida-Bahamas Synod (9E)
- 33. **Ms. Loni Taylor**, Box Elder, Mont.; Montana Synod (1F)
- 34. **Ms. Linda Timmons**, Omaha, Neb.; Nebraska Synod (4A)
- 35. The Rev. Carla Christopher Wilson, York, Pa.; Lower Susquehanna Synod (8D)