EVANGELICAL LUTHERAN CHURCH IN AMERICA CHURCH COUNCIL February 29, 2012 Agenda Page 1

EVANGELICAL LUTHERAN CHURCH IN AMERICA **CHURCH COUNCIL** February 29, 2012 Chicago, Illinois AGENDA

To join the online meeting

- 1. Go to https://elcaorg.webex.com/elcaorg/j.php?ED=169870487&UID=492221612&RT=MiM3
- 2. Enter your name and email address.
- 3. Click "Join".

To join the audio conference only

- 1. Toll-free: 1-866-469-3239
- 2. After the prompt, please enter the following access code: 806 184 175

For assistance

- 1. Go to https://elcaorg.webex.com/elcaorg/mc
- 2. On the left navigation bar, click "Support".

If you have any other issues, please contact John Hessian at john.hessian@elca.org or call 1-800-638-3522 ext. 2607

Participants

Voting Members

Mr. Paul G. Archer Ms. Rebecca Jo Brakke Ms. Rebecca D. Carlson Ms. Deborah L. Chenoweth Ms. Christine P. Connell Pr. Rachel L. Connelly Bp. Jessica Crist (excused) Pr. Elizabeth E. Ekdale Ms. Marjorie B. Ellis Mr. John R. Emery Mr. Gary D. Gabrielson Pr. Vicki T. Garber Pr. Amsalu T. Geleta Ms. Karin L. Graddy

Bp. Mark S. Hanson, Presiding Bishop

Ms. Louise A. Hemstead Pr. Stephen R. Herr

Mr. William B. ("Bill") Horne II

Mr. Mark E. Johnson

Pr. Susan Langhauser Pr. Yvonne I. Marshall Ms. Susan W. McArver Pr. Raymond A. Miller Pr. Robert G. Moore Mr. John S. Munday Mr. Mark W. Myers

Pr. Linda O. Norman, Treasurer

Mr. John M. Pederson

Mr. Carlos E. Peña, Vice President

Mr. Iván A. Pérez Ms. Pamela E. Pritt Ms. Feronika A. Rambing Pr. Laurie F. Skow-Anderson Mr. Blaire P. Smith

Mr. David D. Swartling, Secretary

Pr. Kathryn A. Tiede Pr. Philip R. Wold

EVANGELICAL LUTHERAN CHURCH IN AMERICA CHURCH COUNCIL

February 29, 2012 Agenda

Page 2

Liaison Bishops

Bp. William C "Chris" Boerger

Bp. Michael Burk

Bp. Elizabeth Eaton

Bp. Ralph Jones

Bp. Gerald Mansholt

Bp. Margaret Payne

Bp. Stephen Talmage

Bp. Harold Usgaard

Bp. Herman Yoos

Youth and Young Adult Advisors

Ms. Amanda Briggs

Mr. Jacob Helsor

Mr. Tony Rhodes

Resource People

Office of the Presiding Bishop

Pr. M. Wyvetta Bullock, Assistant to the Bishop, Executive for Administration

Mr. Kenneth W. Inskeep, Executive for Research and Evaluation

Pr. Marcus Kunz, Assistant to the Bishop for Theological Discernment

Pr. Walter May, Assistant to the Bishop for the Conference of Bishops

Pr. Donald J. McCoid, Assistant to the Bishop for Ecumenical and Inter-Religious Affairs

Ms. Jodi Slattery, Assistant to the Bishop for Governance

Ms. Else B. Thompson, Executive for Human Resources (excused)

Office of the Secretary

Pr. Ruth E. Hamilton, Assistant to the Secretary

Mr. Phillip H. Harris, General Counsel

Mr. Frank F. Imhoff, Manager, Official Documentation

Mr. David A. Ullrich, Associate General Counsel

Unit Executives

Program Units

Pr. Stephen P. Bouman, Executive Director, Congregational and Synodical Mission

Ms. Christina Jackson-Skelton, Executive Director, Mission Advancement

Pr. Rafael Malpica-Padilla, Executive Director, Global Mission

Separately Incorporated Ministries

Ms. Linda Post Bushkofsky, Executive Director, Women of the ELCA

Mr. Doug Haugen, Executive Director, Lutheran Men in Mission

Ms. Beth A. Lewis, President, Augsburg Fortress, Publishers

Ms. Eva M. Roby, President and CEO, MIF

Pr. Jeffrey D. Thiemann, President and CEO, Portico Benefit Services

Press

Ms. Melissa Ramirez Cooper, Mission Advancement

Ms. Elizabeth M. Hunter, The Lutheran magazine

Mr. Daniel Lehmann, The Lutheran magazine

EVANGELICAL LUTHERAN CHURCH IN AMERICA CHURCH COUNCIL February 29, 2012 Agenda Page 3

PLENARY SESSION ONE

February 29, 2012 1:30 p.m. – 2:30 p.m.

I.A Call to Order and Adoption of the Agenda

Agenda items have been distributed electronically and by mail. Additional items will be distributed at the meeting to the members of the Church Council and invited resource people.

CC ACTION

Recommended:

To adopt the agenda and to permit the chair to call for consideration of agenda items in the order the chair deems most appropriate.

I.B Updates from the Officers

- I.B.1 Presiding Bishop Mark Hanson
- I.B.2 Vice President Carlos Peña
- I.B.3 Secretary David Swartling
- I.B.4 Treasurer Linda Norman

I.C Items for Action

I.C.1 Elections for ELCA Endowment Fund Board of Trustees

Between meetings of the Churchwide Assembly, the Church Council has the responsibility of electing people to fill terms on churchwide boards, boards of Separately Incorporated Ministries and certain advisory committees. Biographical information is provided in Exhibit A.

CC ACTION

Recommended:

To elect as members of the board of trustees of the ELCA Endowment Fund for six-year terms: the Rev. Charles A. Berdahl, Cherry Hills Village, Colo. (2E); Ms. Kelly D. Brende, Lenexa, Kan. (4B); and Mr. David W. Heise, Flower Mound, Texas (4D).

I.C.2 Election of a Church Council member

Between meetings of the Churchwide Assembly, the Church Council has the responsibility of electing people to fill unexpired terms on churchwide boards, steering committees of churchwide commissions, and certain advisory committees.

EVANGELICAL LUTHERAN CHURCH IN AMERICA CHURCH COUNCIL February 29, 2012 Agenda Page 4

The Southwestern Minnesota Synod (3F) has nominated Pr. Dean Elton Johnson to replace the resignation of Pr. J. Pablo Obregon, Willmar, Minnesota (3F) to a term ending in 2013. Biographical information is provided in Exhibit A.

CC ACTION

Recommended:

To elect the Rev. Dean E. Johnson, Willmar, Minn. (3F), to the Church Council for a term ending in 2013.

I.C.3 Revision of Church Council Orientation Manual

Due to the recent amendments to the *Constitutions, Bylaws, and Continuing Resolutions of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America* as well as certain governing document references that were removed in the last revision, it has been recommended to update the Church Council Orientation Manual. The proposed revised manual is uploaded in Net Community as Exhibit B.

CC ACTION

Recommended:

To approve the 2012 revisions to the Church Council Orientation Manual as provided in Exhibit B.

I.D Information on Addressing Social Concerns Review Task Force Members

At the December meeting of the Executive Committee of the Church Council, voting members appointed a number of individuals, in consultation with the Program and Services Committee, to serve on the Addressing Social Concerns Review Task Force. In order to fulfill some additional representational commitments, the Executive Committee asked the Presiding Bishop to name the remaining members.

As a point of information, the following individuals are serving on the task force: Bishop David Zellmer, Bishop Chris Boerger, Pr. Margaret Herz-Lane, Mr. Chris Meade, Pr. Fred Opalinski, Mr. Per Anderson, Mr. Paul Archer, Ms. Becky Brakke, Ms. Sylvia Bull, Pr. Kit Kleinhaus (chair), Ms. Rose Stephens-Booker, and Ms. Suzanne Wise. The Presiding Bishop may make additional appointments in consultation with Executive Committee.

The first meeting of the task force was January 19-21, 2012 in Chicago. They have a second meeting scheduled for March 6-8, 2012 in Chicago. Additional staff, advisors, consultants and guests will be invited to future meetings as the task force deems appropriate.

I.E. Announcements

Adjournment