EVANGELICAL LUTHERAN CHURCH IN AMERICA CHURCH COUNCIL August 4, 2019 Agenda

Page 1

EVANGELICAL LUTHERAN CHURCH IN AMERICA CHURCH COUNCIL August 4, 2019 Milwaukee, Wisconsin Hyatt Regency Milwaukee

Participants

Voting Members

Pr. Hans Becklin
Mr. John Lohrmann
Mr. Allan Bieber
Mr. Joseph Nolte
Pr. Wm Chris Boerger, Secretary
Ms. Lisa Burk
Mr. Gary Pederson
Ms. Cheryl Chatman
Mr. Reid Christopherson
Bp. Elizabeth Eaton, Presiding Bishop
Mr. Clarance Smith

Ms. Lori Fedyk, Treasurer Pr. Jonathan Splichal Larson

Pr. Dena Gable

Bp. William Gafkjen

Ms. Leslie Swenson

Pr. Joyce Graue

Pr. James Utt

Ms. Cynthia Gustavson

Mr. Vernon Veal

Ms. Cynthia Gustavson
Mr. Vernon Veal
Mr. William Horne, Vice President
Pr. William Voss
Pr. Chad Huebner
Ms. Emma Wagner
Ms. Maren Hulden
Pr. Michael Ward
Mr. James Hushagen
Mr. Philip Wirtanen
Mr. James Jennings
Ms. Sonja Wolfe
Pr. Peder Johanson
Ms. Man-Hei Yip
Ms. Emilee Le Blanc
Mr. Seth Zimmann

Liaison Bishops

Bp. Jeffrey ClementsBp. Brian MaasBp. Steve DelzerBp. John MacholzBp. Suzanne DillahuntBp. Kirby UntiBp. Guy ErwinBp. Pedro Suárez

Bp. Richard Graham

Resource People

Office of the Presiding Bishop

Pr. Wyvetta Bullock, Assistant to the Bishop, Executive for Administration

Ms. Rhondean Johnson, Executive for Human Resources

Ms. Kathryn Lohre, Assistant to the Bishop, Executive for Ecumenical and Inter Religious Relations and Theological Discernment

Pr. Walter May, Assistant to the Bishop, Executive for Synodical Relations

Deacon Mary Ann Schwabe, Natural Systems Coordinator

Ms. Jodi Slattery, Assistant to the Bishop, Governance

Deacon John Weit, Interim Assistant to the Bishop, Executive for Worship (excused)

Office of the Secretary

Mr. Thomas Cunniff, General Counsel

Ms. Aja Favors, Associate General Counsel

Ms. Marit Johnson, Manager, Official Documentation

Deacon Sue Rothmeyer, Assistant to the Secretary

EVANGELICAL LUTHERAN CHURCH IN AMERICA CHURCH COUNCIL August 4, 2019 Agenda Page 2

Unit Staff

Pr. Philip Hirsch, Executive Director, Domestic Mission (DM)

Ms. Christina Jackson-Skelton, Executive Director, Mission Advancement (MA)

Pr. Rafael Malpica-Padilla, Executive Director, Global Mission (GM)

Pr. David Wunsch, Director for Unit Operations and Programs, GM

Ms. Jocelyn Fuller, Director for Strategic Communications, MA

Separately Incorporated Ministries

Ms. Linda Post Bushkofsky, Executive Director, Women of the ELCA

Ms. Christina Jackson-Skelton, President, ELCA Foundation

Mr. Tim Blevins, President and CEO, 1517 Media

Ms. Eva Roby, President and CEO, Mission Investment Fund (excused)

Pr. Jeffrey Thiemann, President and CEO, Portico Benefit Services

Press

Ms. Candice Hill Buchbinder, Mission Advancement

Page 3

Sunday, August 4, 2019

9:30 a.m. Registration opens (Hyatt Regency, outside Ballroom, second floor)

10:00 a.m. Executive Committee meeting (Hyatt Regency, Milwaukee Room)

12:00 p.m. Executive Committee lunch

1:00 p.m. Worship with Church Council, Conference of Bishops, Synod Vice Presidents

(Hyatt Regency, Ballroom)

Presider: The Rev. Paul Erickson
Preacher: The Rev. Joyce Graue
Assisting Minister: Ms. Tracey Beasley

Lectors: The Rev. Fred Thomas-Breitfeld

Ms. Lexanne Graves

Offering is designated for Lutheran Disaster Response. Offerings may be made in cash, by check (payable to the ELCA) or with a credit card by visiting ELCA.org/offering.

2:00 p.m. Church Council photo (Hyatt Regency, outside Ballroom)

Page 4

PLENARY SESSION ONE

Joint Session with the Conference of Bishops and Synod Vice Presidents Hyatt Regency Milwaukee, Ballroom 2:30 – 3:30 p.m.

I.A Call to Order and Adoption of the Agenda

Agenda items have been distributed electronically.

CC ACTION

Recommended:

To adopt the agenda and to permit the chair to call for consideration of agenda items in the order the chair deems most appropriate.

I.B Reports of the Officers

- I.B.1 Presiding Bishop Elizabeth Eaton
- I.B.2 Treasurer Lori Fedyk
- I.B.3 Secretary Chris Boerger

I.C Recognition of Ms. Christina Jackson-Skelton's Service

After 30 years of service, Ms. Christina Jackson-Skelton, executive of Mission Advancement unit, is retiring from the churchwide office on August 31, 2019. This is our opportunity to thank her and recognize her good work.

CC ACTION

Recommended:

To thank Ms. Christina Jackson-Skelton for her faithful service as the executive director of the Mission Advancement unit; and

To extend the council's appreciation for her wisdom and insights which have assisted the Church Council in its work.

I.D Churchwide Assembly Overview

The Conference of Bishops and synod vice presidents will join the Church Council for an overview of Churchwide Assembly business and procedures presented by Bishop Eaton and Secretary Boerger.

DISCUSSION

3:30 p.m. Break

August 4, 2019 Agenda Page 5

PLENARY SESSION TWO

Hyatt Regency Milwaukee, Ballroom Hall B 3:45 – 5:00 p.m.

II.A Potential Executive Session

II.B Items for Action

II.B.1 Churchwide Assembly Citation in honor of Secretary Chris Boerger

CC ACTION

Recommended

[To be provided]

II.B.2 Consideration of Items Removed from En Bloc

II.B.3 En Bloc Approval of Certain Items

The following en bloc resolution includes agenda items that reflect a judgment that these items are relatively non-controversial in nature and may not require plenary discussion and a separate vote. Each of the items is noted as [EN BLOC] in the revised En Bloc Items document.

Prior to the beginning of plenary session two, council members may request to remove items from en bloc consideration in order to discuss separately any of the items listed in the en bloc resolution; any such item will be removed from the en bloc resolution and discussed at the appropriate point in the agenda.

The chair will not call for a discussion or separate vote on those items that are not removed from the en bloc resolution.

CC ACTION

Recommended:

To take action En Bloc on the items listed in "En Bloc Items" document.

II.C Items for Information and Discussion

II.C.1 Information about the November 2019 Church Council Meeting

The November 2019 meeting of the Church Council will be held November 7-10, 2019 at the Lutheran Center in Chicago. Orientation for newly elected members of the Church Council will be Friday, September 13, 2019 at the Lutheran Center.

Mentors have been identified for the incoming class of Church Council members.

CC INFORMATION

II.D Adjournment

5:30 p.m. Reception, Hyatt Regency, Outside Ballroom

6:30 p.m. Banquet honoring Secretary Chris Boerger, Hyatt Ballroom

Monday, August 5, 2019

9:30 a.m. Orientation for Church Council on Churchwide Assembly, Wisconsin Center Hall A/B

1:00 p.m. Assembly Orientation, Wisconsin Center Hall A/B

2:00 p.m. ELCA Guidebook Training, Wisconsin Center Hall A/B