EVANGELICAL LUTHERAN CHURCH IN AMERICA

CHURCH COUNCIL Sept. 27, 2021

7:00 – 8:00 pm CT (Central Time)

Electronic Meeting

AGENDA

(Special Meeting to consider a nominee to Church Council and to consider "A Declaration of the ELCA to the American Indian and Alaska Native People")

Join on your computer or mobile app using Microsoft Teams

Click here to join the meeting

Or call in (audio only)

312-319-1553

Phone Conference ID: 107 410 924#

For assistance

If you need any assistance, please contact Jodi Slattery (773) 558-2144 (work cell).

Participants

Voting Members

Mr. Kevin Anderson Pr. Pamela Hoh Bp. Tracie Bartholomew Ms. Cherrish Holland Ms. Tracey Beasley Mr. Jim Jennings Pr. Marcus Bigott Mr. David Lenz Pr. Nick Billardello Pr. Tara Lynn Ms. Susan Boxberger Mr. Keoni Newman Ms. Lisa Burk Mr. Joe Nolte Pr. Bill Callister Mr. Gary Pederson

Pr. Karn Carroll Mr. Carlos Peña, Interim Vice President

Ms. Cheryl Chatman Mr. Bill Rice
Ms. Alyssa Cobb Pr. Ricardo Rivera

Mr. Ismael Danforth Deacon Sue Rothmeyer, Secretary

Ms. Divine

Bp. Elizabeth Eaton, Presiding Bishop

Pr. Joanne Engquist

Ms. Valerie Shaw

Mr. Loren Solberg

Ms. Lori Fedyk, Treasurer

Ms. Kerry Fehrman (nominee)

Pr. Dena Gable

Pr. Daniel Gerrietts

Mr. Noah Roux

Ms. Valerie Shaw

Mr. Loren Solberg

Pr. Kjersten Sullivan

Ms. Loni Taylor

Ms. Sonja Wolfe

Ms. Merritt Zesinger

Pr. Emily Hartner

Liaison Bishops

Bp. Shelley WickstromBp. Donald KreissBp. Andy TaylorBp. Barbara CollinsBp. Patricia LullBp. Pedro Suárez

Bp. Sue Briner Bp. Jeff Clements EVANGELICAL LUTHERAN CHURCH IN AMERICA CHURCH COUNCIL Sept. 27, 2021 Agenda Page 2 of 3

Resource People

- Pr. Louise Johnson, Executive for Administration, Office of the Presiding Bishop
- Ms. Rhondean Johnson, Executive, People and Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion, Office of the Presiding Bishop
- Mr. Thomas Cunniff, General Counsel, Office of the Secretary
- Pr. Keith Fry, Executive, Office of the Secretary Administration
- Ms. Marit Johnson, Manager, Official Documentation, Office of the Secretary
- Ms. Jodi Slattery, Executive, Governance, Office of the Secretary
- Pr. Philip Hirsch, Executive Director, Christian Community and Leadership
- Pr. Rafael Malpica-Padilla, Executive Director, Service and Justice
- Ms. Mikka McCracken, Executive Director, Innovation

Repudiation of the Doctrine of Discovery Task Force

- Pr. Richard Magnus (co-chair)
- Mr. Vance Blackfox (co-chair), Desk Director for American Indian and Alaska Native Tribal Nations, Service and Justice
- Pr. Jessica Crist, co-chair of the ELCA Repudiation of the Doctrine of Discovery Table
- Ms. Jennifer de Leon, Director for Racial Justice, Office of the Presiding Bishop
- Ms. Christine Mangale, Program Director, Lutheran Office for World Community, Service and Justice
- Ms. Kathryn Lohre, Executive, Ecumenical & Inter-Religious Engagement and Theological Discernment, Office of the Presiding Bishop
- Pr. Carmelo Santos, Director for Theological Diversity and Ecumenical & Inter-Religious Engagement, Office of the Presiding Bishop

I.A Call to Order and Adoption of the Agenda

Agenda items have been distributed electronically.

CC ACTION

Recommended:

To adopt the agenda and to permit the chair to call for consideration of agenda items in the order the chair deems most appropriate.

I.B. Report of the Executive Committee

I.B.1 Election of Church Council nominee

Ms. Patricia Kluetz, East-Central Synod of Wisconsin [5I], resigned from Church Council on Sept. 7, 2021. Secretary Sue Rothmeyer declared a vacancy and invited the East-Central Synod of Wisconsin Synod Council to nominate a lay female. Ms. Kerry A. Fehrman, Wausau, WI, was the nominee. If elected, she would fulfill the remainder of the term ending in 2025. The biographical information for Ms. Fehrman can be found here.

CC ACTION

Recommended:

To elect Ms. Kerry A. Fehrman, Wausau, WI [5I], to the Church Council for a term ending 2025.

I.B.2 Consideration of "A Declaration of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America to the American Indian and Alaska Native People"

At the 2016 Churchwide Assembly, the assembly repudiated the Doctrine of Discovery and "to offer a statement of repentance and reconciliation to native nations in this country for damage done in the name of Christianity." [CA16.02.04]

Since that assembly, staff have provided progress updates to Church Council on the development of the work and Presiding Bishop Elizabeth Eaton appointed a task force on the Repudiation of the Doctrine of Discovery. The process for developing "A Declaration of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America to American Indian and Alaska Native People" is outlined in a <u>cover letter</u> from the task force.

The proposed declaration can be found <u>here</u>. Co-chairs of the task force, Pr. Dick Magnus and Mr. Vance Blackfox, will present the declaration.

CC ACTION

Recommended:

To adopt "A Declaration of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America to American Indian and Alaska Native People" as a statement of repentance and reconciliation to native nations in this country for this church's damage done in the name of Christianity;

To thank the Repudiation of the Doctrine of Discovery task force for their diligence in preparing the statement; and

To encourage congregations, synods and the churchwide organization to find ways to share this statement broadly.

I.C Adjournment