EVANGELICAL LUTHERAN CHURCH IN AMERICA

Church Council

MINUTES

Mar. 3, 2021

Prepared by the Office of the Secretary

EVANGELICAL LUTHERAN CHURCH IN AMERICA CHURCH COUNCIL

MINUTES Mar. 3, 2021

The 106th meeting of the Church Council of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (ELCA), a specially called meeting, was convened electronically at 2:30 p.m. (CST).

ORGANIZATION OF THE MEETING

The following people were present for all or part of the meeting:

Voting members:

Officers:

The Rev. Elizabeth A. Eaton, presiding bishop Mr. William B. Horne II, vice president

Deacon Sue E. Rothmeyer, secretary

Ms. Lori S. Fedyk, treasurer

Chair of the Conference of Bishops:

The Rev. Tracie L. Bartholomew, bishop of the New Jersey Synod (excused)

Church Council:

Mr. Kevin Anderson Ms. Tracey A. Beasley The Rev. Marcus A. Bigott The Rev. Nicholas M. Billardello III

Ms. Susan Boxberger
Ms. Lisa Burk (excused)
The Rev. William H. Callister

The Rev. Karn S. Carroll Ms. Cheryl T. Chatman Ms. Alyssa J. Cobb

Mr. Ismael E. Danforth

Ms. Divine

The Rev. Joanne E. Engquist The Rev. Dena M. Gable The Rev. Daniel W. Gerrietts The Rev. Emily C. Hartner

The Rev. Pamela J. Hoh

Representatives of the Conference of Bishops: Bp. Sue J. Briner, Region 4

Bp. H. Jeffrey A. Clements, Region 5 Bp. Barbara J. Collins, Region 8

Bp. Donald M. Kreiss, Region 6 (excused)

Bp. Patricia J. Lull, Region 3

Churchwide Staff Resource People:

Mr. Dana Adams, director, meeting management

The Rev. M. Wyvetta Bullock, executive for administration

Mr. Thomas A. Cunniff, general counsel

The Rev. N. Keith Fry, executive, Office of the Secretary administration

The Rev. Philip C. Hirsch, executive director, Christian community and leadership

Ms. Marit E. Johnson, manager, official documentation

Ms. Rhondean Johnson, executive, people and diversity, equity, and inclusion

The Rev. Rafael Malpica-Padilla, executive director, service and justice

Ms. Mikka McCracken, executive director, innovation

Mr. Joseph Schmidt, administrative services coordinator

Ms. Jodi L. Slattery, executive, governance

Ms. Cherrish Holland

Mr. James J.F. Jennings Ms. Patricia Kluetz

Mr. David M. Lenz The Rev. Tara R. Lvnn

Mr. Keoni Newman

Mr. Joseph T. Nolte Mr. Gary A. Pederson

Mr. William D. Rice

The Rev. Ricardo Rivera

Mr. Noah F. Roux Ms. Valerie J. Shaw

Mr. Loren A. Solberg (excused) The Rev. Kjersten L. Sullivan

Ms. Loni Taylor (excused)

Ms. Sonja Wolfe

Ms. Merritt G. Zesinger (excused)

Bp. John S. Macholz, Region 7

Bp. Pedro M. Suárez, Region 9

Bp. Andrew A. Taylor, Region 2

Bp. Shelley R. Wickstrom, Region 1 (excused)

CALL TO ORDER AND ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

(Agenda I.A.)

Background:

Agenda items were distributed electronically.

Church Council action:

Mr. William B. Horne II, vice president of the ELCA and chair of the Church Council, called the Church Council meeting to order at 2:32 p.m. (CST).

Vice President Horne asked the Rev. Elizabeth A. Eaton, presiding bishop of the ELCA, to open the meeting in prayer. A motion was made to adopt the agenda.

There being no discussion, the chair called for the vote.

VOTED:

CC21.03.01 To adopt the agenda and to permit the chair to call for consideration of agenda items in the order the chair deems most appropriate.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

(Agenda I.B.)

The 106th meeting of the Church Council of the ELCA entered into executive session at 2:34 p.m. to discuss personnel matters. Elected council members, liaison bishops, the administrative team, ELCA legal counsel, the executive for people and diversity, equity, and inclusion, and the minutes team were present for the executive session. The Church Council returned to open session at 2:43 p.m. to relay the action taken.

VOTED:

CC(ES)21.03.02 To elect the Rev. Louise N. Johnson as the executive for administration for a term coterminous with the term of the presiding bishop, as provided in churchwide continuing resolution 15.12.A20.

UPDATES ON THE FUTURE CHURCH DESIGN

(Agenda I.C.)

Presiding Bishop Eaton spoke of the history of the Future Church design process, its vision, purpose, and priorities, and the new leadership teams. The Rev. Philip C. Hirsch, executive director, Christian community and leadership, reviewed the history of Future Directions 2025, the Innovation Lab, and the initial stages of the Future Church design.

Ms. Lori S. Fedyk, treasurer of the ELCA, reviewed the priorities for the first 100 days under the new design which included communication plans and work with the three shared leadership teams (Operations team, Strategic team, and Innovation team). Ms. Rhondean Johnson, executive, people and diversity, equity, and inclusion, reported on a wellness survey sent to all churchwide staff to facilitate conversation between staff and supervisors around remote work. Ms. Mikka McCracken, executive director, innovation, presented items the churchwide organization hoped to address in the coming year, including leadership development and diversity, equity, and inclusion.

Pastor Hirsch and Ms. McCracken described a proposed "Welcome In" grant. Pastor Hirsch explained that the churchwide organization would be interested in collecting ideas from congregations that welcome new people, especially as in-person activities and worship resume following the pandemic. Ms. McCracken asked council members for suggestions regarding how these ideas could best be shared across the ecology of the ELCA. One possibility she mentioned would be to award monetary grants to congregations that participated in this initiative; however not all congregations would be awarded funding. Those that did not receive funding might receive a "participation award" of some sort yet to be determined. Whether congregations received grant funding or a participation award, they would be asked to complete a survey to share their ideas.

Council members offered feedback on the proposal. Notes were captured by the Future Church team to aid their planning.

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting of the Church Council adjourned at 3:59 p.m. (CST) on Wednesday, Mar. 3, 2021.